Name: Becoming a Parish or Town Councillor
Description: Becoming a Parish or Town Councillor

Becoming a Parish or Town Councillor

Becoming a Parish or Town Councillor

What is a Parish/Town Council

A parish council is a local authority that makes decisions on behalf of the people in the parish/town. It is the level government closest to the community, with Dartford Borough Council above it in the hierarchy.

In Dartford there are seven Parish Councils and one Town Council: -

* Bean parish Council
* Darenth Parish Council
* Longfield and New Barn Parish Council
* Southfleet Parish Council
* Stone Parish Council
* Sutton-at-Hone and Hawley Parish Council
* Swanscombe and Greenhithe Town Council
* Wilmington Parish Council

You can find further information about the Parish Councils here 

How long does a councillor serve for

Once elected, councillors sit on the council for a maximum of four years. If they then want to stay in the post they can stand for re-election.

How do I apply

Further information and guidance on becoming a Parish or Town Councillor is published by the Electoral Commission: - Electoral-commission

Applications can be downloaded from the Electoral Commission, or by clicking here PDF, 226.64 KB

Last Updated: 04th March 2021