Name: Police and Crime Commissioner Election
Description: Police and Crime Commissioner Election

Police and Crime Commissioner Election


This webpage has been designed as an information portal for the 2021 Kent Police and Crime Commissioner Election and will be updated on a regular basis with everything you need to know about the election as well as prospective candidates.


Police and Crime Commissioners (PCCs) are elected every four years. The term of the current PCC runs until May 2021.

The date of the next PCC election for England and Wales will be 6th May 2021.

The overall responsibility for the conduct of the election will sit with the designated Police Area Returning Officer (PARO) for the Kent police force area. Sarah Martin, the Strategic Director of Dartford Borough Council has been appointed and will discharge her duties in accordance with The Police and Crime Commissioner Elections Order 2012.


The Association of Police and Crime Commissioners (APCC) has produced a PCC Candidate Briefing which provides guidance, advice and information for anyone interested in standing as a candidate in the 2020 elections: This page we will be updated in due course for the re-scheduled 6 May 2021 election.

To read more about the election guidance for PCCs, including qualifications for standing as a candidate, please visit the Electoral Commission website:

The Home Office have a collection of documents relating to the Police and Crime Commissioner on their website:

If you are interested in standing as a Candidate in the PCC Election, please contact the PARO at:

Key dates

  • 19 March 2021: Publication of Notice of PCC Election
  • 22 March – 8 April 2021: Nomination period for PCC candidates
  • By 9 April 2021: Publication of statement of persons nominated for PCC election
  • Deadline for applications to register to vote: 19 April 2021 (
  • Deadline for receiving new postal and postal proxy application, or to change existing arrangements: 5pm 20 April 2021*
  • Deadline for receiving new applications to vote by Proxy: 5pm 27 April 2021*

*Please note that your application MUST be received by the Electoral Registration Officer of your Local Authority – not the PARO


Voting area


Contact details

Ashford Borough Council

Electoral Services, Civic Centre, Tannery Lane, Ashford, Kent TN23 1PL

01233 330402 /

Canterbury City Council

Military Road, Canterbury, Kent, CT1 1YW

01227 862007 /

Dartford Borough Council

Civic Centre, Home Gardens, Dartford, Kent DA1 1DR

01322 343251 /

Dover District Council

Council Offices, White Cliffs Business Park, Whitfield, Dover CT16 3PJ

01304 – 872344 /

Folkestone and Hythe District Council

Civic Centre, Castle Hill Avenue, Folkestone, Kent, CT20 2QY

01303 853203 /

Gravesham Borough Council

Gravesham Borough Council, Civic Centre, Windmill Street, Gravesend, DA12 1AU

Maidstone Borough Council

Maidstone House, King Street

Maidstone, Kent ME15 6JQ

01622 602007 /

Medway Council

Medway Electoral Services, Gun Wharf, Dock Road, Chatham, ME4 4TR

01634 332030 /

Sevenoaks District Council

Council Offices, Argyle Road, Sevenoaks, Kent, TN13 1HG

01732 227000 /

Swale Borough Council

Electoral Services, Swale House, East Street, Sittingbourne, ME10 3HT

01795 417558 /

Thanet District Council

Thanet District Council Offices, Cecil Street, Margate, CT9 1XZ

01843 577500 /

Tonbridge and Malling Borough Council

Gibson, Building, Gibson Drive, Kings Hill, Tonbridge Kent ME19 4LZ

01732 876022 /

Tunbridge Wells Borough Council

Town Hall, Mount Pleasant Road, Tunbridge Wells, TN1 1RS

01892 554 025 /


Information on the Kent candidates will be published here:
(This site has yet to be updated with the information for the 2021 election)

Please note that the Police Area Returning Officer (PARO) details on the website are incorrect and should read

Sarah Martin

Dartford Borough Council
Civic Centre
(Room E1)
Home Gardens

01322 343090


Will be published when available

Last Updated: 01st February 2021