Skip to content Accessibility access to: Home page Accessibility access to: Accessibility


15 Jan 2018 6:00am

The next Local elections for Dartford Borough Council are scheduled for May 2019.

Review of Dartford's Electoral Arrangements by the Local Government Boundary Commission 2017

The Local Government Boundary Commission is currently carrying out a review of Dartford Borough Council's electoral arrangements. The Commission has completed the first stage of its' review and is recommending that the number of Councillors to be elected to the Council from May 2019 should be reduced from 44 to 42.

The Commission is now looking at the pattern of electoral wards for the Council and is inviting comments from the public on the existing and future ward boundaries. This is open to public consultation from 26 September 2017 until 4 December 2017.

You can find details of the review and how to submit your views by going to the Commission's web site by following this link

Community Governance Review
(Parish & Town Council Boundary Review) 2018

A community governance review was completed in December 2018.  This review changed the parish & town council boundaries which will come into effect for the local elections to be held in May 2019

A copy of the order making the changes can be found here PDF, 406.78 KB

Borough wide Parish Map

Individual Parish Maps PDF, 2218.98 KB

Consideration of the recommendations by the General Assembly of the Council can be found here

Parliamentary elections

Parliamentary elections are scheduled to take place every five years .

European Union Referendum 23 June 2016

Combined Election – 7 May 2015

Elections image

Review of Polling Districts and Polling Places

The Council is conducting a review of its Polling Districts and Polling Places. This will commence on 1 October 2018 to 14 December 2018.

Recent elections

Borough elections

Dartford Borough Council holds Borough elections every four years, with the last on Thursday 5 May 2011. There are total of 44 Councillors who are elected in 17 wards. Between one and three Councillors are elected in each ward.

Town and Parish elections

These elections are held once every four years. In the Dartford Borough Council there is one Town Council and seven Parish Councils. The Parish Councils have between six and 12 elected members and the Town Council has 20 elected members.

Parliamentary elections

Polling for the Parliamentary elections last took place on Thursday 6 May 2010.

Parliamentary elections take place every five years .

European elections

Elections for the European Parliament take place every five years.

The local results for the European Parliamentary Election and a list of the MEP's for the South East Region can be seen below

KCC elections

For more information please go to Kent County Council Elections.
Error in Nomination Electoral Registers for Dartford East and Swanscombe and Greenhithe Electoral Divisions

It has come to our attention that following the review of Kent County Council boundaries in 2015 a change was made to boundaries which affect the Dartford East and Swanscombe and Greenhithe electoral divisions and which became effective in May 2016.  This transferred the Castle Ward, polling district CA, from Swanscombe and Greenhithe division to Dartford East.  Consequently the nomination registers that have been issued to Candidates and Agents before 30 March 2017 are erroneous in this respect.

We would ask candidates who are using nomination registers issued to them before 30 March 2017 and seeking election in Swanscombe and Greenhithe division not to list subscribers from the part of the register marked CA as these now sit in Dartford East.  This has not affected any nomination papers that have been delivered to us to date.

We will be re-issuing correct nomination registers to previous recipients and apologise for any inconvenience caused.

The results for the previous KCC election on 2 May 2013 to fill the six County Electoral Division seats in Dartford can be seen below.

Police and Crime Commissioner elections

The first Police and Crime Commissioner elections took place on Thursday 15 November 2012.