The Cabinet sets the overall policy and budget for the Council – setting priorities and resources to meet the needs of the community.

Each Cabinet Member has a portfolio of responsibilities for which the Member leads in policy development. These portfolios are listed below.

Councillor J A Kite MBE:

Portfolio: Leader

Councillor C J Shippam:

Portfolio: Deputy Leader & Town Centre

Councillor S H Brown:

Portfolio: Climate Change, Environment & Waste

Councillor A Lloyd:

Portfolio: Finance

Councillor D J Mote:

Portfolio: Housing

Councillor Mrs P A Thurlow:

Portfolio: Arts and Culture

Councillor R J Wells:

Portfolio: Community Safety & Youth

Lead Members:

Sitting outside the Cabinet reporting to the Leader of the Council:

  • Charities & Voluntary Organisations: Councillor R M Currans
  • Equalities, Cohesion and Society: Councillor T Oliver
  • Grants and Community: Councillor J A Ozog
  • Health and Wellbeing: Councillor M I Peters
  • Councillor A S Sandhu MBE: Business& Armed Forces Champion
  • Parks, Open spaces and Heritage: Councillor D Swinerd
  • Women & Girls: Councillor M B Kelly (assisted by Councillor E E Palmer)