Councillor Andy Lloyd has been appointed as the Mayor of Dartford for the next 12 months.

The ward member for Heath, who has served as deputy mayor for the past year, was elected at the Annual Council meeting on 8 May 2024.

Councillor Lloyd was first elected to Dartford Borough Council in 2005. He has served on the Cabinet for three terms, first with the leisure brief, when he drove the award winning re-development of Fairfield Leisure Centre, and then eight years with the finance portfolio, during a time when council tax was frozen for six of the eight years.

The new Mayor has spent his career in banking and finance. For the past thirteen years he led a large consultancy business, first conducting a management buy-out from its American owners, and in 2023 he passed on the company into full employee ownership.

Both Councillor Lloyd and his wife Diane – who will be supporting as Mayoress – were born, educated, and have lived all their married life in Dartford. The couple boast three children and six grandchildren, all of whom live within the Borough.

During their leisure time, Andy and Diane enjoy spending time with their family, socialising with friends, cruise holidays, and modern jive dancing.  

The new Deputy Mayor is Councillor Peter Whapshott, who will be joined by his wife Norma as Deputy Mayoress. He is currently serving as a councillor for Brent ward, and is the Armed Forces Champion for the whole of Dartford. Councillor Whapshott has a real passion for military history, and in addition to running a monthly veterans’ breakfast club, he is an ambassador for the Care for Veterans charity, and is the deputy chair for the Dartford and Crayford Sea Cadets.

Revd Charlie Lloyd-Evans of St Mary’s Greenhithe & St Peter and St Paul’s Swanscombe has been appointed as the Mayors Chaplin. 

The Mayors Charity Appeal for 2024-25 will support two charities focused on the young people of Dartford: Little Buds Special Care Baby Unit, and Lutonia 2028 Scout Hall Redevelopment.

Published: 9th May 2024